Album News: The Temperance Movement, Jeff Rosenstock, Wachenfeldt, Stillborn

Hope you’ve got some money left after the new year blowout… I guess all those pennies you’re saving through Dry January need to go somewhere!

The Temperance Movement

British rock and rollers The Temperance Movement have returned with news of a brand new studio album to be released in early 2018, supported by a European headlining tour.

Following a whirlwind few years in which they released two Top 20 albums, toured around the world and shared the stage with rock megastars The Rolling Stones. The Temperance Movement are finally back, having been hard at work behind the scenes preparing for an even bigger year in 2018.

The band’s eagerly-anticipated new album, A Deeper Cut, is due to be released on February 16th, 2018 and features twelve brand new songs which draw on the band’s recent experiences and showcase their ever-improving songwriting abilities. Guitarist Paul Sayer:

This is my favourite record we’ve made so far and I’m more excited about getting this out there than I have been about any of the previous albums. I feel like we’ve really captured what the band is about on this one; I can’t wait for people to hear it and I can’t wait to get out on the road and play it live to everyone.

The band hit the UK/IRE in Feb/March:

  • Mon 19th Feb 2018 Brighton, Concorde 2
  • Tues 20th Feb Cambridge. Junction
  • Wed 21st Feb Birmingham, O2 Institute
  • Thurs 22nd Feb Bristol, O2 Academy
  • Sat 24th Feb Poole, Winters End Festival (festival date)
  • Sun 25th Feb Manchester, O2 Ritz
  • Tues 27th Feb Dublin, Grand Social
  • Wed 28th Feb Belfast, Empire Music Hall
  • Fri 2nd March Aberdeen, The Garage
  • Sat 3rd March Glasgow, Barrowlands
  • Sun 4th March Newcastle, University
  • Mon 5th March Sheffield, O2 Academy
  • Wed 7th March Portsmouth, Pyramids
  • Thurs 8th March Nottingham, Rock City
  • Fri 9th March London, O2 Forum

Jeff Rosenstock

You’re still coming out of the haze of 2017. Maybe your New Year’s Eve got a little crazy, maybe it got a little dark. You’re not sure if you’re going to actually get out of bed before noon, but you roll over and check your phone, just in case anything terrible has happened while you were sleeping.

Wait. What? Call your best friend. There’s a new Jeff Rosenstock record. And it’s out on March 23rd.

Jeff Rosenstock wrote POST- in a double-wide trailer in the Catskill Mountain town of East Durham, the snow-covered hills surrounding him like a landscape of blank pages. The serene, empty space was a big change of scenery for a guy who bounces around the world like a human comet, playing super-catchy, super-devastating shout-alongs to dedicated fans around the world.

Written in the days after the 2017 Presidential inauguration, POST-‘s lyrics get (really) heavy but the melodies are so catchy and the builds are so big and bright that the end result is more of a rallying cry than a surrender. The album was recorded in a one-week, 86-hour marathon recording session with Jack Shirley (Joyce Manor, Deafheaven) at the Atomic Garden in East Palo Alto, CA.


After four years, Wachenfeldt has now completed the sequel to Colophon, named The Interpreter. The re-release of The Interpreter – Extended Version with two bonus tracks will take place on Feb 9th along with the first physical release of the album.

The Interpreter, mixed by Tommy Rehn (Angtoria, Corroded i.a.) contains nine songs where two of them (“Colophon” and “Litany to Satan”) were also featured on Colophon, but are now in new versions. The music is, as previously, situated between death, thrash and black metal with elements of classical and folk music.


On the occasion of their twentieth anniversary, the death black metal commando Stillborn have prepared a reissue of their first two demos which will now – for the first time – be available on CD limited to 300 copies.

Original versions of Mirrormaze and Die In Torment 666 will be released on a single CD, additionally enriched with two, previously unreleased tracks recorded during the recording sessions of the two demos. The cover, the artwork and the whole layout of the release were handled by Bartek Kurzok. A special booklet features hardly known stuff from 1998-2001 that comes from the band’s archives.

Plus, the band have finished recording their next release, an EP titled Crave for Killing, which contains nearly twenty minutes of material. The premiere has been scheduled for early spring 2018 as limited 12”MLP, limited jewel case CD and limited MC.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments