Dirge announce new album!

After 4 long years in seemingly quiet solitude, Dirge, the conjurers of celestial bodies rooted in cumbersome earth, return with their seventh offering of hymnals to the toil of suffering and perseverance.

Boasting a 2 and half year writing process and mixing/mastering credits by Raphael Bovey (Wilhelmina, Schammasch, Zatokrev), Lost Empyrean serves as a soundtrack to the dual relationship between the primordial quintessence colliding with the earthly body and the illusory nature of providence upon the sombre, meagre trappings of existence. With a molten foundation likening early Baroness, Pelican and Isis and the atmospheric permutations of the later, Neurosis and modern Killing Joke, Dirge forge a sonic landscape that both swells and breathes with lush and delicate passages while brutally pummelling with emotive, heavy riffs.

Lost Empyrean is as dynamic and multi-faceted as it is crushing and furious. Like the crashing of waves, sludgy, doom-laden riffs ebb and flow into calm ambience and sonorous post-metal atmosphere. Dour roars relax into despondent clean vocals and spoken word. With their latest album, Dirge weave a tapestry of fluid contradictions. Melodic and dissonant, hopeful and desperate, tranquil and tempestuous, Lost Empyrean is not simply a record to be heard, but to be surrendered to.

The new album Lost Empyrean is released 14th December 2018 via Debemur Morti Productions.


  1. Wingless Multitudes
  2. Hosea 8:7
  3. Algid Troy
  4. The Burden Of Almost
  5. Lost Empyrean
  6. A Sea Of Light
  7. Sarracenia

Dirge are:

  • Marc T. – guitars, vocals, programming
  • Stéphane L. – guitars, vocals, programming
  • Alain B. – drums
  • Luz – bass

Dirge: facebook | soundcloud | youtubebandcamp

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments