Video Roundup: Exodus / Sweet / Pupil Slicer / Sainted Sinners / Detset / Total Recall

It has been ages since we did one of these – they take longer to put together than you’d expect – but there is just so much great stuff coming out at the moment that we had to let you know about…


With a bond forged in youth and decades-old friendship, the undisputed masters of thrash metal return with their eleventh studio album, Persona Non Grata due to be released on November 19th via Nuclear Blast Records. Today, the band releases a lyric video for their third single “The Years Of Death And Dying”. Tom Hunting comments:

“The Years Of Death And Dying” started out as a poem, from the perspective of Death, being a thinking entity, always watching and looking for weakness and opportunity to come calling for people. A Grim Reaper story. We were losing legends: Bowie, Cash, Petty, Prince, Frey… the list goes on and on. Then we started losing family members and friends in our own orbit. Anyway, the title came first, then the poem, which became a song. I shared the lyrics with Gary, who helped inspire me with phrasing to finish it, and the guys loved it. The song is really long, and more legends kept passing right up into the moment Zet was singing it, so I had to keep writing until I had enough to complete the song. We hope you enjoy our tribute to the fallen!”

Pre-order or pre-save the album now.


Sweet, featuring original guitarist Andy Scott, have released their new single “Everything 2021”. The single is available via iTunes/Amazon/Spotify/Apple Music and all the usual platforms and is also supported with a music video.

Sweet founding member and guitarist, Andy Scott said:

During the rehearsals for Sweet’s forthcoming Hellraiser UK Tour in November and December 2021, we were trying out various songs from our back catalogue that could be added to the set list. As soon as I heard Paul Manzi and Lee Small’s vocals on the song Everything, I knew that we needed to get it down and record it as our new single.

If you like what we do, consider joining us on Patreon for as little as £1 per month!

Pupil Slicer

Pupil Slicer have shared a new music video for their track, “Collective Unconscious”. The six and a half minute missive is taken from the band’s debut full length, Mirrors, released in March of this year via Prosthetic Records. “Collective Unconscious” is available as a digital single featuring live versions of “Mirrors Are More Fun Than Television” and a cover of Converge’s “Concubine” as B-sides. The highly stylized visual, produced by Cineoteric Films, depicts the band performing within a theatre alongside choreographed dance and performance by Liam Hill – tying together “Collective Unconscious”‘ lyrical narrative.

Sainted Sinners

This track is taken from Sainted Sinners’ upcoming album Taste It that will be released on November 26, 2021 via ROAR! Rock of Angels Records!

The digital single of “Against The Odds” is now available across all digital and streaming platforms. You can also pre-save the album now.

Don’t fancy Patreon? Buy us a one-off beverage!


One of Finland’s freshest acts, Detset, have released their new single / video for “The Mechanic”, out now via Out Of Line Records. Detset’s vocalist Sami Silvennoinen comments on the new single:

“The Mechanic” is a song we did not consider as a single candidate at first, but as time went on we really started to feel like this song had something special and we are excited to be releasing it as our third single and video. This video was written, shot, cut, and edited by the band so it does have a special meaning to us as we created everything from start to finish.

Yet to release their debut album, Detset have already achieved an impressive amount, including appearances at Finnish festivals like Nummirock Metal Festival and Saari Helvetti, and performing massive support shows alongside Turmion Kätilöt.

The song is available to stream / purchase now.

Total Recall

Milan-based metalcore band Total Recall releases today the video for “Never Again”, the third extract from the LP Always Together released worldwide on July 16th, 2021 by Australian label 1054 Records.

“Never Again” is the result of a deep introspective journey between the darkest and most hidden parts of our personality. Directed by Brace Beltempo, the music video recalls and further develops this concept – as opposed to the other singles released by Total Recall so far. In fact, the energetic band performance scenes are interspersed with bloody shots of frontman Andrea “Ronda” Rondanini and model May Padme.

Regarding the single, singer Andrea “Ronda” Rondanini declares,”‘Never Again’ is like a really bad trip. You are going to be dragged into the deepest void.”

To this, guitarist Stefano “Bleed” Bigoni adds, “‘Never Again’ have always been my go to song off the new record. It’s brutal and very percussive, and it moves a lot of air when played live. It is definitely the song that produces the most severe damage among the crowd in a live situation. I absolutely love it!”

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments