Sunday, May 26, 2019
GIK Acoustics - Europe
GIK Acoustics - Europe
The Moshville Times

Art Brut album launch party – Signature Brew Taproom, London (8 November 2018)

The night after playing a sold out show at Boston Music Room, Berlin-based post-punk art rock band Art Brut hosted a launch party for their upcoming album Wham! Bang! Pow! Let’s Rock Out! at Signature Brew Taproom in East London. You may recall that I went along to the Signature Brew open day back in July last year, well now they have their very own taproom (bar) in East London and it is a great space for beers and live music… and the perfect location for an album launch!

Art Brut (c) Katie Frost

Upon arrival I was handed a goodie bag which included a can of one of my favourite Signature Brew beers “Roadie” plus some postcards featuring the band’s artwork, as well as a token for a free beer at the bar – I was already having a lovely time!

With my pint of free beer in hand I found a spot to sit near the front of the stage and awaited the start of the event. Shortly afterwards we were treated to an album playback that was actually played on vinyl, making it sound even better! Art Brut are comprised of founding members Eddie Argos, Ian Catskilkin and Freddy Feedback, with Toby Macfarlaine on guitar and Charlie Layton on drums. I would describe their music as fun and upbeat indie-rock and I really enjoyed listening to the sneaky-peak of their latest album Wham! Bang! Pow! Let’s Rock Out! which will be released on 23rd November.

After the album playback Eddie and Ian from the band were joined on stage by comedian and actor Michael Legge who asked them some questions about the new record and what they have been up to recently. After the interview there was a Q&A session which gave fans the chance to ask Eddie and Ian any burning questions.

Wham! Bang! Pow! Let’s Rock Out! will be released on 23rd November via Alcopop! Records. You can watch the video for new single “Hospital!” elsewhere on this page. The band will be embarking on an extensive twelve-date tour of the UK early next year – all the dates are below.

All photos by Katie Frost Photography

Wham! Bang! Pow! Let’s Rock Out! Tracklist:

  1. Hooray
  2. I Hope You’re Very Happy Together
  3. Good Morning Berlin
  4. She Kissed Me (And It Felt Like A Hit)
  5. Schwarzfahrer
  6. Hospital!
  7. Too Clever
  8. Kultfigur
  9. Veronica Falls
  10. Wham! Bang! Pow! Let’s Rock Out!
  11. Awkward Breakfast
  12. Your Enemies Are My Enemies Too

 Art Brut 2019 UK Headline Tour Dates:

  • 17.01.19 – The Garage, London
  • 15.02.19 – Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
  • 16.02.19 – The Exchange, Bristol
  • 17.02.19 – The Globe, Cardiff
  • 18.02.19 – The Bullingdon, Oxford
  • 19.02.19 – Phase One, Liverpool
  • 20.02.19 – Sneaky Pete’s, Edinburgh
  • 21.02.19 – Stereo, Glasgow
  • 22.02.19 – Yes, Manchester
  • 23.02.19 – The Haunt, Brighton
  • 02.03.19 – The Joiners, Southampton
  • 03.03.19 – Boileroom, Guildford

Art Brut: official | facebook | twitter

About The Author

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of