Monday, June 18, 2018
GIK Acoustics - Europe
GIK Acoustics - Europe
The Moshville Times

Gig Review: Evanescence / Arcane Roots – Hammersmith Apollo, 13th June 2017

Evanescence are a band who need little introduction. Tonight was the first of two sold-out London shows for the platinum-selling New York gothic rock band, and an enormous queue of fans snaked around the barriers outside Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith on a sticky Tuesday evening.

Arcane Roots (c) Katie Frost

First to hit the stage were alt-rock band Arcane Roots, who I saw for the first time at Fort Fest last summer. Opening with “Over & Over”, the Surrey three-piece played a brilliant seven-song set featuring tracks from their 2015 EP Heaven & Earth, as well as showcasing tracks from their up-coming second full-length album Melancholic Hymns (out on 15 September).

Despite there being just three guys on the stage, Arcane Roots had no problem in filling Hammersmith Apollo with their trademark alt-rock sound; from powerful riffs to majestic harmonies, and the crowd seemed to really enjoy their set. After these two dates supporting Evanescence the band head to Europe for a series of festival appearances, before returning to the UK for their own headline tour in October.

Evanescence (c) Katie Frost

Shortly after 9.15pm, the crowd lights dimmed and an expectant roar came from the crowd. The room was packed and everyone was eager to see Evanescence take to the stage. Sadly, us photographers were unable to shoot the headliners from the photo-pit and had to make do with a small area in front of the sound desk (hence the difference in my photos between the two bands), but this provided a great vantage point to take in the show and watch the 5000-strong crowd enjoying themselves.

Opening with “Everybody’s Fool” from their debut album Fallen (2003), Evanescence played an awesome eighteen-song set featuring tracks from their expansive career, including crowd-favourites, “Going Under” and “Bring Me To Life”. I hadn’t been to an Evanescence show before, so it was great to hear Amy Lee’s passionate, operatic vocals live. The band were also incredibly tight and the sound was epic!

Evanescence are due to release their latest album Synethesis later this year.

Note: I wanted to mention that the security team at the venue were the best I have ever encountered, so a big thanks to them for handling some moderately-miffed photographers in a non-ideal situation in a very organised, professional and friendly manner.

All photos by Katie Frost Photography

<a href="" target="_blank">Click to View</a>

Set list:

  • Everybody’s Fool
  • What You Want
  • Going Under
  • The Other Side
  • Lithium
  • My Heart Is Broken
  • Made of Stone
  • Haunted
  • Weight of the World
  • Say You Will
  • My Immortal
  • Breathe No More
  • Your Star
  • Whisper
  • Call Me When You’re Sober
  • Imaginary
  • Bring Me to Life
  • Disappear (Encore)

Evanescence: official | facebook | twitter | vk

Arcane Roots: officialfacebook | twitter | instagram | youtube | vevo

About The Author

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of