Album Review: False Heads – It’s All There, But You’re Dreaming

Battering their way through over 4 years hard work, London’s False Heads bring us their debut album It’s All There, But You’re Dreaming this week. This follows a long string of singles, two EPs and relentless touring which sees this post-punk three-piece getting high regard on the circuit. Jack Saunders just featured the band and their latest single “Rabbit Hole” on his BBC Radio 1 New Wave show and Iggy Pop himself says “They are young and talented and going places, if they came to my town I’d show up for that”.

The album kicks off as it means to go on with the gritty, emotive “Whatever You Please”. Dreamlike soundscapes soon disseminate into dark, erratic guitars and angsty vocals that provoke a sense of panic and unease. First single from the album “Fall Around” has an early 90s vibe – think Blur on their punkier tracks. Crashing drums and a catchy as hell chorus will have you tapping along in no time, same goes for the explosive, neck wrecking “Ink”.

Garage punk “Twenty Nothing” is a riff-liscious number. Filthy bass tones layered with Luke Griffith’s spitting punk vocals provide a no holds barred intimate view on life from the band’s eye view. This is heavily evident throughout the album which lends itself to a powerful and at times uncomfortable listen. I love that kind of visceral reaction to music. False Heads have a lot to say and they’re gonna damn well make you sit up and listen.

Their social commentary is blisteringly clear in “Slew”, against a backlash of crippling riffs and thrashing drums. “The world is bleak and social media makes it bleaker,” comments Luke in regards to the inspiration behind some of the writing.

It’s not all angst and sorrow however. Yes lyrically this album is unapologetically brutal and honest, yet musically it’ll have you head thrashing, foot stomping and singing your heart out to those infectious choruses, the ear worms still wriggly long after you’ve finished listening. Moments of pure joy shine through in more melodic numbers (“Comfort Consumption” is a sublime shoegaze offering for instance) and upbeat “Come At The King” which come as a welcome reprieve mid way offering up the band’s diversity and musicianship.

The latter half of the album takes on an edgy, grungy feel. The album adopts a heavier stance and shows no sign of faltering. “Slease” grabs my attention and I can only imagine it being battered to death on stage. Pissed off “Wrap it Up” is one of my favourite tracks on here, the break down is blinding. Rabid drumming and commanding guitars bleed superbly into last track “Rabbit Hole”, riff heavy and contagious lyrics leave me wanting.

False Heads are one of the most relevant bands in the current climate. Their lyrical antipathy throughout leaves you with feelings of unease the more and more you listen. Like a punch in the gut, I find myself connecting wholly with each track and I become swathed in the mood of the album entirely. Unrelenting, it’s gonna take a huge pull to make me listen to anything else right now.

Tour dates:

  • 26/03 – Castle & Falcon, Birmingham
  • 27/03 – Record Junkee, Sheffield
  • 28/03 – Off The Square, Manchester
  • 29/03 – EBGBS, Liverpool
  • 01/04 – Garage Attic, Glasgow
  • 03/04 – Heartbreakers, Southampton
  • 05/04 – Latest Music Bar, Brighton
  • 06/04 – Louisiana, Bristol
  • 16/04 – Werkhaus, London

Header image by Neil McCarty Photography

It’s All There, But You’re Dreaming is out on 13th March. Pre-order on Amazon to help support this site!

False Heads: official | facebook | twitter | instagram | spotify

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments