Duff McKagan releases “Don’t Look Behind You”, announces European tour

Produced by (and featuring) recent Grammy winner Shooter Jennings, Tenderness is released on the 31st May 2019. McKagan is giving fans another sneak peek at the much-anticipated record with the release of its closing track, “Don’t Look Behind You”.

McKagan comments:

“Don’t Look Behind You” was truly inspired by a sense of peace that washed over me after a few months of turning off the TV and social media. It was also inspired by the sense of real community I felt while traveling and talking to people around the world on tour during this somewhat tenuous time. This period of sturm und drang will indeed pass. The song seemed to be the final summation that rang loudly from the topics on Tenderness.

The recording sessions for this album also saw us re-assemble, for the first time since the Use Your Illusions recordings, The Suicide Horn Section, featuring my brother Matt McKagan on trombone, the great Chuck Findlay on trumpet, and the impossible Brian Scanlon on sax. On the very last day of recording, they came down to the studio and laid down the amazing horn lines for “Don’t Look Behind You”. I’ll never forget the culmination of Matt and The Suicide Horns mixed with the Waters singing group sending this song and album out, as Shooter and I just watched it all with goosebumps.

“Don’t Look Behind You” follows previously released songs “Chip Away” and title track “Tenderness” and all three are available as instant downloads by clicking here to pre-order Tenderness ahead of its 31st May release.

Tenderness sees McKagan reflecting on his experiences traveling the globe over two and a half years on Guns N’ Roses’ Not In This Lifetime tour. Encountering heartbreak, anger, fear, confusion and divide on his travels during this tumultuous time in our world history, McKagan channeled a collective hurt into songs of monolithic power.

Says McKagan:

We’re becoming divided at a time when we need each other most.When huge industries get replaced because of modernisation, it’s time to retrain and bolster up those who get swept aside. Homelessness and drug addiction are avoidable in this country if we come together and get private and public cogs turning together in a positive direction. We can at least try to tackle mental illness while we’re at it. But alas, we stump and lie, point fingers and divide. We’re way better than this.

With that in mind, McKagan has created a campaign that puts the album’s themes into action and he’s inviting fans to join him in an effort to give support to organisations doing great work. Those include Seattle’s Union Gospel Mission320 Changes Direction, and To Write Love on Her Arms, among others. For more information, please visit Propeller.

McKagan, backed by Shooter Jennings and his band, will be taking these songs on the road for a European tour (including two dates in England), that begins on the 22nd August in Poland. Tour dates are as follows:

  • Thursday 22nd August 2019​​- Stodola, Warsaw POLAND
  • Friday 23rd August 2019​​ – Astra, Berlin GERMANY
  • Saturday 24th August 2019- ​​Blue Moon Festival, Amsterdam HOLLAND
  • Monday 26th August 2019​​ – Gloria, Cologne GERMANY
  • Tuesday 27th August 2019​​ – Alte Feurwache, Mannheim GERMANY
  • Thursday 29th August 2019​​ – Islington Assembly Hall, London UK
  • Saturday 31st August 2019​​ – Electric Picnic Festival, Dublin EIRE
  • Sunday 1st September 2019​​ – Manchester Academy 3, Manchester UK
  • Tuesday 3rd September 2019​​ – Le Trabendo, Paris FRANCE
  • Wednesday 4th September 2019 – ​Ancienne Belgique, Brussels BELGIUM
  • Friday 6th September 2019​ – ​Dynamo, Zurich SWITZERLAND
  • Sunday 8th September 2019​​ – Santeria Club, Milan ITALY

Header image by Jesse DeFlorio

Duff McKagan: official | facebook | twitter | instagram | youtube

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments