Tuesday, December 18, 2018
GIK Acoustics - Europe
GIK Acoustics - Europe
The Moshville Times

The Tubes announce 40th anniversary tour

The Tubes 192The Tubes, the San Francisco-based rock band whose 1975 debut album included the controversial rock anthem White Punks on Dope celebrate their 40th Anniversary when they embark on a 9-date UK tour in August 2015.

Dates are as follows:

  • Bristol, The Fleece ( August 3)
  • Brighton Concorde 2 (August 4)
  • Southampton, The Brook (August 6)
  • London Clapham Grand (August 7)
  • Manchester Club Academy (August 8)
  • Glasgow, The Art School (August 9)
  • Leeds Brudenell Arts Club (August 11)
  • Edinburgh Liquid Rooms (August 12)
  • Wolverhampton Robin 2 (August 13)

The band’s over-the-top theatrical visual live performances are known to millions of rock fans around the world for their combined quasi-pornography with outrageous satires of media, consumerism, and politics, epitomised by lead singer Fee Waybill’s deranged on-stage characters, such as the larger-than-life fictitious platform-booted, drugged out British glam rock star Quay Lewd.

In 1977 The Tubes toured the UK, but many of their shows were banned due to British censorship. In February 1978 they released a ground-breaking live album entitled What Do You Want From Live – recorded at London’s Hammersmith Apollo in November 1977, and also made their UK television debut on The Old Grey Whistle Test.

The Tubes are best remembered for their 1983 single “She’s a Beauty”, a top 3 U.S. hit single bolstered by a frequently-played music video in the early days of MTV.

The current five-man line-up of The Tubes features four original members – Fee Waybill (lead vocals), Roger Steen (guitar), Rick Anderson (bass) and Prairie Prince (drums), plus David Medd (keyboards), the latter who’s played with the band since 2006.

The August UK 2015 tour celebrates the band’s 40th Anniversary. The concerts will include all the band’s most memorable songs including “What Do You Want From Life?”, “Mondo Bondage”, “Amnesia”, “Sushi Girl”, “Don’t Wanna Wait Anymore”, “Talk To Ya Later”, “She’s A Beauty” and “White Punks On Dope”.

About The Author


Father. Husband. Teacher of Computing. PADI divemaster. Krav Maga Practitioner. Geordie. Geek. Nerd. Metal nut. I also own and run a website - you may have heard of it.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of