Bastette detail new EP and reveal first single

Gritty rock/pop group Bastette have announced details of their brand new EP! Titled Bastette Exposed, the Lancashire five piece band will release their sophomore EP on 17th September 2021.

Ahead of this announcement, Bastette has just premiered a brand new song and music video for lead single “Talk About It”!

Loud, bold, and firey, Bastette takes no prisoners with their new single. A fearless track about sleeping with the enemy and taking back control.

If you like what we do, consider joining us on Patreon for as little as £1 per month!

Bastette singer/songwriter Caroline Kenyon explains:

“Talk About It” lyrically takes a literal approach. We are always told “communication is key”, but from my experience, it doesn’t change an already broken relationship. You can go round in circles repeating the same conversations, but never coming to a conclusion. Whilst the track highlights this ineffective and repetitive cycle it also shows that definitive moment for me when I realised enough was enough. That “light bulb” moment was empowering for me, when I was finally able to see the situation for what it was, the person for who they were. When you see things clearly and let go of the negative you are able to create momentum and move forward. It can be seriously motivating.

The upcoming EP Bastette Exposed was recorded at the Lounge Recording Studio in Wigan with producer Gareth Nuttall (Frank Turner). Taking influence from the Pretty Reckless, Halestorm and Starbenders, Bastette mesh sparkling rock sonics and gritty pop smarts with original songwriting that lyrically resonates with real life. Each track on the EP is laid to bare with exploration of betrayal, love, sex, control, manipulation, and passion all moulded into one, but authentically asks “How much of it is real, and how much of it is fantasy?”

Kenyon adds:

I’ve always been drawn to fantasy but the problem with fantasy is that you have to fall back into reality at some point and the longer you wait the longer and harder the fall. I have partially lived my life through fantasy so is it real or is it not, and with this new music I’ve taken the time to explore the sometimes thin line between reality and fantasy. The new EP is influenced by real-life events that have been brought to life through song, with each track portraying significant moments in time that can haunt the human psyche throughout our lifetimes.

Bastette Exposed tracklist:

  1. Stand Back
  2. Talk About It
  3. Sick & Twisted
  4. Rollercoaster
  5. Poison

Don’t fancy Patreon? Buy us a one-off beverage!

To support the release of the forthcoming EP, Bastette has a number of shows booked up that includes a UK tour with Marisa and the Moths, plus special guest slots to Transvision Vamp legend Wendy James, and Aussie rockers Massive on a number of their UK dates! Bastette will also perform live at festivals this summer, including the New Wave Of Classic Rock Vol.1 webfest, Call of the Wild (with Inglorious and more), and Rockin’ The Bowl at Don Valley, Sheffield (with Cats In Space and more).

Bastette live dates:

  • 19th June – NWOCR Vol.1 Webfest
  • 10th July – Lincoln, Call of the Wild
  • 23rd July – Newcastle, Trillians
  • 26th August – Blackpool, The Waterloo (w/ Wendy James)
  • 3rd September – Wigan, The Boulevard (w/ Sam Millar)
  • 10th September – Sheffield, Rockin the Bowl (w/ Cats In Space and more!)
  • 17th October – Blackpool, The Waterloo (w/ Massive)
  • 20th November – Manchester, Rebellion (w/ Marisa and the Moths)
  • 21st November – Newcastle, Trillians (w/ Massive)
  • 25th November – Cardiff, Fuel (w/ Massive)
  • 26th November – Birminghan, Engine Room (w/ Marisa and the Moths)
  • 9th December – Blackpool, The Waterloo (w/ Marisa and the Moths)
  • 10th December – Nottingham, Rough Trade (w/ Marisa and the Moths)
  • 11th December – Bradford, Nightrain (w/ Marisa and the Moths)
  • 12th December – Hull, Old School House (w/ Marisa and the Moths)
  • 18th December – Reading, Purple Turtle (w/ Marisa and the Moths)

Bastette: official | facebook | twitter | instagramyoutube

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments