Healthy Junkies announce Delirious Dream

UK punk/grunge rock band, Healthy Junkies, have announced the release of their fourth album Delirious Dream, in stores on October 17th via Banana Castle Records/Cargo Records UK. The release coincides with the start of their first ever US tour which kicks off on the same date.

Want to hear it first? Then get down to The Unicorn in Camden on the 12th for the release party. Free entry and a bevy of bands! Note that the official album release is still the 17th, so this is a chance to jump the listening queue.

The album was recorded at Bark Studios by Brian O’Shaughnessy who recorded Primal Scream and My Bloody Valentine at the very same studio in the 90s. It was mastered by Pete Maher whose recent projects have included The Pixies, The Rolling Stones and Jack White.

Healthy Junkies are:

  • Nina Courson – Lead vocals
  • Phil Honey-Jones – Guitar/Vocals
  • Dave Whitmore – Bass guitar
  • Tony Alda – Drums


  1. When All Is Said And Done
  2. This Is Not A Suicide
  3. Juliet’s Call
  4. Johnny Demented
  5. Some Kind Of Girl
  6. Ghost Without A Soul
  7. All Talk
  8. The Sound Of My Guitar
  9. Boy Or Girl
  10. Meet & Greet
  11. This Condition
  12. These Boots Are Made For Walking
  13. James Dean
  14. Theft
  15. Part 2

Nina Courson, Healthy Junkies’ glamorous yet rebellious lead punkster ran away from home when she was fourteen and was found in Paris at the foot of the Sacre Coeur church with tears in her eyes. Nina was then taken under wing by a gang of Parisian hoodlums. Soon after, Nina discovered her saviors had broken wings. An online chat room lead Miss Nina to be fostered by a Muslim transvestite named MoMo. In the tranny underworld of Paris, Nina found her true musical muse in David Bowie’s music, moving to London in 2007 to pursue her own rock n roll rite of passage.

Note – album release now 17th October (party still on the 12th!)

Nina took several low paying day jobs to keep her nights free to scour the clubs in London for a band and destiny awaited when she found guitarist Phil Honey-Jones who at the time was in a psychedelic rock outfit named Nurotica. Phil had left his dysfunctional home as a young lad as well, and the two went on their way seeking solace in the world of music. Naming the band Healthy Junkies, reflecting the mental health epidemic currently spreading like wildfire through the core of the western society. Nina and Phil arrived at this name as a reaction/rebellion to the numbing and dumbing down of the use of so many pharmaceutical meds such as Prozac, Fluoxetine and OxyContin.

In late 2013 Healthy Junkies added Dave Whitmore on bass and Tony Alda on drums, hitting the road in the UK and Europe building a decently sized following, pulling about 500 people at the Arena stage for Rebellion Punk Festival. During these years of constant gigging the band supported such iconic punk bands as The UK Subs, GBH, The Rezillos, Theatre of Hate, Sham 69, The Professionals and The Damned. These bands have inspired Healthy Junkies in their writing and given the band a punk rock edge to mix with their grunge/goth and psychedelic rock roots. The touring continued with Irish, European, UK and US tours booked for 2018.

The Healthy Junkies head to America for the first time on October 17th! Rodney Bingenheimer, former KROQ DJ and current Sirius XM DJ, inspired this tour when Nina and Phil came over for holiday last year and Bingenheimer began giving the band airplay spins. Phil and Nina also have been running their own monthly night in Camden, London for six years now. It is called Punk and Roll Rendezvous. The night has become so such a phenomenon that they decided to host a 3-day festival both in 2017 and 2018. The criteria for the night is free entry and always with at least one band on the bill from outside London, sometimes abroad. They will be scouting for US bands to bring over to London to play their much sought after night. Punk and Roll Rendezvous and Healthy Junkies have one main goal: to bring people together. People from across the board wishing to express themselves and be authentic without prejudice.

Phil and Nina also appeared on Arte TV in a documentary called The United Kingdom of pop, a 2-part series which tells the story of rock’n’roll from its beginnings to now, alongside legends such as DJ Don Letts and Lynval Golding from the Specials. Mixing punk rock with grunge, psychedelic rock, new wave, garage rock and goth. Add a soupçon of theatre and you have Healthy Junkies.

Healthy Junkies: official | facebook | twitter | instagramyoutube

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments