Thursday, November 26, 2020
GIK Acoustics - Europe
GIK Acoustics - Europe
The Moshville Times

At The Gates reveal details of “To Drink From The Night Itself”

Of all the classic death metal bands to deliver another record in 2018, At The Gates are probably among the very most anticipated, especially with 2014’s incredible comeback, At War With Reality under their belt.

Now, the Swedish melo-death legends have lifted the veil on album number six, titled To Drink From The Night Itself. The album, set for release on May 18th features production by Russ Russell (Napalm Death, The Haunted and Dimmu Borgir).

Previously, ATG mainman, vocalist and lyricist Tomas Lindberg had this to say of the new album:

This is going to be a darker, richer and more raging album than the last one. It has so much more real ATG emotions on display, and I would say, it has the same approach lyrically as the feeling of The Red In The Sky Is Ours. More of a RED album, than a BLUE one. Can’t wait for people to hear it!

On the artwork and working again with Costin Chioreanu, Lindberg adds:

It has once again been an absolute pleasure working creativily with Costin. We had a lot of ideas for what we wanted to get across with the art this time around. Overall they were, not surprisingly, related to the general concept of the record. What is great with Costin is that he understands the band. He knows what we are and where we come from. And me and him also have a strong artistic connection. I have never met anyone that goes so deep into the world of my lyrics and concepts. When I first wrote to him describing my ideas, I was worried that my remarks were perhaps too long and too confusing, only to get back an even longer and very inspired response…

The inspiration for the actual front cover piece is taken from the Pergamon Altar, on display at the Pergamon museum in Berlin. It is of course linked closely to the concept that the whole record is based upon, but more on that later. But I will throw a name out there, for the interested ones; Peter Weiss. I can’t wait to get the whole record in my hands now, as this is just one of the many great artwork pieces that Costin has created for us on To Drink From The Night Itself

With Tomas suggesting the new record has more of a classic ATG feel than At War With Reality, and the title of the new album paralleling those of their earlier career, I think we’re about to be delivered a monumental release..

To Drink From The Night Itself tracklisting:

1. Der Widerstand
2. To Drink From The Night Itself
3. A Stare Bound In Stone
4. Palace Of Lepers
5. Daggers Of Black Haze
6. The Chasm
7. In Nameless Sleep
8. The Colours Of The Beast
9. A Labyrinth Of Tombs
10. Seas Of Starvation
11. In Death They Shall Burn
12. The Mirror Black

Watch this space for more details on new ATG material. The band play Bloodstock Open Air this August.

To Drink From The Night Itself is out May 18th via Century Media Records.

At The Gates: official | facebook | twitter | youtube

About The Author



Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x