Album News: Thunder, Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals, YOB, Lance Lopez

Check out these upcoming releases, heading into your record collections soon!


On 23 March 2018, Thunder will release a brand new live set Stage through earMUSIC. Stage features hits from right across the band’s career and includes fan-favourite classics like “Backstreet Symphony”, “Low Life In High Places” and “Love Walked In” and bringing things right up to date with tracks from the 2017 Top 3 UK Chart Album title track “Rip It Up” and “She Likes The Cocaine”. Thunder are of course a noted and globally in demand live act. Stage was captured at Cardiff Motorpoint Arena on March 24th 2017 during the UK Tour.

Frontman Danny Bowes says of the new record:

The Rip It Up album was so well received, it was no surprise the tour was brilliant too. We decided to include a Cardiff Motorpoint Arena show on the tour, purely because it was so good when we played there with Journey & Whitesnake in 2013. Capturing it as well turned out to be one of our better decisions, because the resulting film and album are a shining example of an organic “coming together” of fans and a band. We’ve released a few live recordings over the years, but this is most definitely up there with the best of them. We’re extremely pleased with it.

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals are premiering the third crushing song taken from the legendary singer’s sophomore album with his personal band, Choosing Mental Illness As A Virtue. The full-length will be out on January 26th, 2018.

“Delinquent” is now streaming, and you can listen to it below. Phil describes it as “old school-meets-ugly-school. Good shit.”


  1. Little Fucking Heroes
  2. Utopian
  3. Choosing Mental Illness
  4. The Ignorant Point
  5. Individual
  6. Delinquent
  7. Photographic Taunts
  8. Finger Me
  9. Invalid Colubrine Frauds
  10. Mixed Lunatic Results


Oregon based cosmic trio YOB have completed recording their highly anticipated eighth full-length album and long-awaited follow-up to the critically acclaimed Clearing The Path To Ascend. The album will contain six tracks co-produced by the band and recorded with engineer Billy Barnett at Gung Ho Studio in Eugene, OR, with mastering handled by Heba Kadry (The Mars Volta, Diamanda Galas, Slowdive). The album has already appeared on the Most Anticipated Albums of 2018 list by numerous publications including Decibel Magazine and Stereogum.

The new album is set for a summer release via Relapse Records, whom YOB have officially signed to following a series of reissues with the label. Frontman Mike Scheidt commented on the new material and signing:

I have many, many albums in my collection that have been released by Relapse, and I’ve been a fan of their releases for nearly 30 years. We’re honored and excited to release our new album with Relapse. We can’t wait to get back at it and share this new music with our friends worldwide!

Lance Lopez

Texan Lance Lopez is set to unleash his long-awaited new solo album, Tell The Truth, on March 2nd 2018 on Provogue/Mascot Label Group.

Tell The Truth is an autobiographical tour-de-force through the life and times of an archetypal Texas blues legend with all the highs and lows that inevitably accompany this time honoured path. Lance Lopez has been on a slow, steady climb up the mountain to the blues rock hall of heavyweights for the last decade, and this album declares his arrival.

Check out the brand new track “Cash My Check” below:

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments