News Roundup: Theory of a Deadman, JW Jones, Biblical, Republica, Forged in Black

Another brief collection of titbits from all ends of the rocky road…

Theory of a Deadman

Canadian rockers, Theory of a Deadman have unveiled details of their new album, Wake Up Call, set for release on 27th October via Atlantic Records. Check out the video for lead track, “Rx”, which takes aim at America’s opioid epidemic impacting many families and communities, below. Wake Up Call is available to pre-order now with all purchases receiving “Rx” straight away.

The band tell us:

Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything. Our new record, ‘Wake Up Call’ reflects a positive change in our sound moving forward. We created this record from a place of complete freedom. It felt like a natural one, as well. This is a new chapter for us and the live shows will reflect that. Visually and musically we’re gonna step it up and are so excited for our fans to see and hear the new Theory.

JW Jones

Award-winning Canadian blues rock guitarist and singer-songwriter, JW Jones, will release his new album High Temperature on Solid Blues Records via Proper Distribution in the UK and Europe on Friday 20th October 2017. The album dovetails an 18-date nationwide UK tour starting at the Worthing Pavilion on Thursday 23rd November. Dates are:

  • Thursday 23 November – Worthing Pavilion
  • Friday 24 November – Cellar Bar, Bear Hotel, Devizes
  • Saturday 25 November – The Thunderbolt, Bristol
  • Sunday 26 November – Mr Kyps, Poole
  • Monday 27 November – Marr’s Bar, Worcester
  • Tuesday 28 November – Robin 2, Bilston
  • Wednesday 29 November – Kardomah94, Hull
  • Thursday 30 November – The Musician, Leicester
  • Saturday 2 December – Borderline, London
  • Sunday 3 December – Edinburgh Voodoo Rooms
  • Tuesday 5 December – Waterfront, Norwich
  • Wednesday 6 December – Komedia, Brighton
  • Thursday 7 December – The Talking Heads, Southampton
  • Friday 8 December – Keighley Blues Live
  • Saturday 9 December – Sleazy’s, Glasgow
  • Sunday 10 December – Cluny 2, Newcastle


Having signed with independent New York based label, Tee Pee Records, Toronto quartet, Biblical, are limbering up to release their second long player this September. Titled The City That Always Sleeps, the record will be released via Tee Pee on September 15, 2017. Listen to the first track, “Mature Themes” below.

Of the track, bassist and vocalist, Nick Sewell comments:

The lyrics to “Mature Themes” tell the story of a woman who realizes she needs to kill her father to be free of her ghosts. We’ve always preferred story videos that relate thematically, rather than literal interpretations of the song lyrics.

So the video for Mature Themes has nothing to do with lyrics. But, it does relate the theme of the record. This time, it’s about being haunted by the fear of failure, and how far one might go to avoid it.


Based out of São Paulo, Brazil, Republica is a rock band that has always produced genuine and organic sounds, combining powerful riffs, modern grooves and unique melodic lines. With an intense drive to solidify the band as an international act and to take their sound to the next level, the band has just recorded their fourth career album.

Brutal & Beautiful is produced by Matt Wallace, whose body of work includes lots of successful albums by artist such as Faith No More, Maroon 5, Deftones, REM, 3 Doors Down, Train and many others. The track list is as follows, and the first single – “Beautiful Lie” – is beneath.

  1. Black Wings
  2. Death For Life
  3. One Left In The Chamber
  4. Intimacy Of Your Soul
  5. The Maze
  6. Beautiful Lie
  7. Broken
  8. Everything
  9. Endless Pain
  10. Stand Your Ground
  11. Tears Will Shine

Forged In Black

Imperative PR proudly announce the imminent arrival of the new EP from heavy metal warlords Forged In Black, the momentous Sinner Sanctorum, out on September 2nd.

Having achieved such spectacular results working with legendary producer Chris Tsangarides (Thin Lizzy, Judas Priest, Exodus, Overkill, Girlschool, Anvil and so many more) on their last release – Fear Reflecting Fear – the band decided not to mess with a winning team and once again entrusted their songs to the man responsible for the sound on stone cold classics like Thunder And Lightning and Painkiller.

The Tsangarides/Forged In Black partnership has again served up real magic, with Sinner Sanctorum towering over all previous Forged In Black efforts, even the highly praised Fear Reflecting Fear. Sharper, more focussed, more accomplished and infinitely more powerful than anything they have released before, Sinner Sanctorum dares to stand tall beside the illustrious releases of Chris Tsangarides past work. No metal heart can remain unmoved by songs such as “Crimson Echoes” or “Pay The Price”.

Forged In Black are the epitome of great heavy metal. With a heart of steel always at the core of everything they do, they reach out and draw in everything that’s great from across the metal map. Soaring, spiralling lead guitar work and the incredible vocals of front man Chris ‘Stoz’ Storozynski engage in aerial dogfights above a rugged, mountainous terrain of gritty riffs and a thunderous rhythm section. All the power and fury of thrash, the atmosphere, grandeur and emotion of doom and the epic scope and boundless energy of power metal are gathered in and poured into the burning elixir of Forged In Black’s unique take on the glorious metal art.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments