Album News: Wayward Sons, Eskhaton, Oceans Ate Alaska, King Leviathan

A bunch of forthcoming releases here. Time to start budgetting. Between these and the usual splurge of upcoming tour announcements, it’s going to be an expensive time for music fans up to the new year!

Wayward Sons

Wayward Sons are delighted to announce the release of their debut album Ghosts Of Yet To Come on the 15th September through Frontiers Music Srl.

Wayward Sons is a UK guitar act made up of Toby Jepson (vocals/guitar), Sam Wood (guitar), Nic Wastell (bass), Dave Kemp (keys) and Phil Martini (drums). They have an impressive resumé of groups they have previously worked with – Little Angels, Gun, Spear Of Destiny, Treason Kings and Chrome Molly to name a few – which is reassuring in terms of the band as players, but doesn’t really hint at their sound. Wayward Sons sound nothing like the sum of their parts. The music is hard rock but mixed with a vitality and energy – both musically and lyrically.

The band is set to release four videos to support single releases. The videos together will make one short film. You can see the first video (for debut single “Until The End”) right here:


Lavadome Productions has inked a deal with Australian cataclysmic death metal force Eskhaton for the release of band’s third album entitled Omegalitheos.

The Omegalitheos phenomenon will exhibit a powerful 14 songs of psycho violence brought to levels above its predecessors.

You can now listen to unmixed and unmastered samples of Omegalitheos. This is just the hint of what’s to come. The cover and the force of the finished songs shall be revealed soon. Expect nothing but TOTAL DEATH.

Oceans Ate Alaska

Birmingham progressive metalcore quintet Oceans Ate Alaska have confirmed that they’ll release their new album Hikari on the 28th July via Fearless Records, their first with vocalist Jake Noakes who joined the band earlier this year.

Pre-orders of Hikari are now live for both digital and physical releases, with the band’s latest singles “Covert” and “Escapist” available as instant downloads.

To coincide with the announcement the band have released a video for their new single titled “Escapist”.

You can also see them headlining the UK Tech-Fest tour, kicking off this week:

  • Jun 15 – Plymouth, UK @ Underground
  • Jun 16 – Bridgend, UK @ Hobos
  • Jun 17 – Manchester, UK @ Satan’s Hollow
  • Jun 18 – Glasgow, UK @ Opium
  • Jun 19 – Newcastle, UK @ Jumpin Jacks
  • Jun 20 – Northampton, UK @ Roadmender
  • Jun 21- Southampton, UK @ The Joiners

King Leviathan

King Leviathan, hailing from Brighton UK have gathered quite the following since releasing their critically acclaimed 2015 E.P The Shrine, spreading their “Black Mass” to Bloodstock Open Air and several iterations of Mammothfest as well as touring the UK with the likes of Wretched Soul, Abhorrent Decimation and Meta-Stasis.

The south coast act have become known for their combination of extreme thrash and groove metal vibes with hints of black metal, providing whirlwinds of guitar shreds. On top of that Adam Sedgwick‘s vocal capability has vastly improved since The Shrine, he makes switching from a power singing voice to furiously aggressive shouts seem effortless.

Now, the blackened thrash four-piece have just announced details for their eagerly awaited debut album, Paean Heretica, which has been two years in the making. It is King Leviathan’s darkest and heaviest work to date, encompassing themes of loss, abandonment, blind faith and what comes after death.

The album is a nine track, 45 minute collection of ‘psalms’ which were recorded and mixed by Paul ‘Win’ Winstanley at Brighton Electric Studios, mastered by Alan Douches (Mastodon, Revocation, Motorhead, Baroness) and with art by Alex Norman (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Opeth, Katatonia, Sylosis).

Paean Heretica will be the first release via new independent label Infernum Records and will be physically available on August 5th, 2017.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments