Album News: Overkill, The Drip, CODE, Devilment

As ever, more news than we can keep up with at the moment! Here’s a selection, big and small…


legendary New Jersey thrashers Overkill have announced their upcoming eighteenth album, The Grinding Wheel. The album will be released on February 10th, 2017 via Nuclear Blast. Bobby ‘Blitz’ Ellsworth comments:

Grinding on! Here we come again kids, strapped to the Grinding Wheel! Bang your head.

The Grinding Wheel was produced by the band and mixed by Andy Sneap (Testament, Exodus, Accept). The artwork was created again by Travis Smith (Nevermore, Opeth, Soilwork, Death…).

overkill-the-grinding-wheelBelow is the track listing:

  1. Mean Green Killing Machine
  2. Goddamn Trouble
  3. Our Finest Hour
  4. Shine On
  5. The Long Road
  6. Let’s All Go To Hades
  7. Come Heavy
  8. Red White And Blue
  9. The Wheel
  10. The Grinding Wheel

Recently, the band released “Our Finest Hour”. Enjoy an impression of the mighty thrash inferno with this lyric video and prepare to bang your heads even wilder in 2017.

The Drip

the-drip-the-haunting-fear-of-inevitabilityWashington State quintet The Drip announce their debut full-length of merciless, grindcore ferocity entitled The Haunting Fear of Inevitability. Fusing together the rawest elements of crust, powerviolence, d-beat and grind, The Drip rip and ravage through thirteen frenzied tracks, chock-full of slaughterhouse riffage, lightning fast blastbeats and pulverizing breakdowns. Produced by Joel Grind of Toxic Holocaust and mastered by Brad Boatright (Skeletonwitch, Gatecreeper, Weekend Nachos), The Haunting Fear of Inevitability is a new declaration of intensity that is sure to set the underground ablaze!

Prepare yourself for the violence on January 13th with a sample – “Painted Ram” over on YouTube. You can pre-order physical copies through Relapse Records, and digital download via Bandcamp.


London-based shapeshifters CODE will release a new EP titled Lost Signal on January 25th via Agonia Records. Watch a video trailer for this release on YouTube.

code-lost-signalLost Signal is a meeting of ages and a blurring of lines. In the Summer of 2015, CODE spent some time in a studio in England to experiment with tracks from their back catalogue of four albums. The idea was to re-visit past works from a different angle and “Lost Signal” is the result.

The EP features three songs from their most recent album Mut (2015), performed with a strong metallic approach. It also features three further songs, one from each of the first three albums performed in a more subtle and introspective style similar to that seen on the Mut album. The result is a release that alternatively emphasises the subtlety and heaviness of the band’s sound and provides a chance to hear these songs in a completely new way.


Devilment - The Mephisto WaltzWitch County nefarious frights Devilment – led by vehement frontman Dani Filth, will release their masterpiece Devilment II: The Mephisto Waltzes tomorrow (18th November) via Nuclear Blast Entertainment. The band have just releases the final trailer in which Dani reflects on his love of Danzig and some of his encounters with “Evil Elvis”. Watch the video below.

When recalling one of their many meetings, Dani comments,:

He came to say hello after a show we played in LA and I was that [flustered] trying to put a top on I fell through the curtain, fell down the stairs and somebody opened the door and I literally fell into him and headbutted him. But he didn’t mind at all!… People see him as this arrogant man… I’ve heard all the tales… But last time I saw him, everybody was backstage. Me, my wife and my daughter where literally sitting up on stage to watch him. He’s let me do that about three times.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments