Sunday, July 21, 2019
GIK Acoustics - Europe
GIK Acoustics - Europe
The Moshville Times

Album News: Tilted Axes, Darkthrone, Jupiter Falls, Éohum

Good grief, there are too many albums coming out! We’ll never keep up with this deluge! You people have no idea how luck you are…

Tilted Axes - Music for Mobile Electric GuitarsTilted Axes

Tilted Axes: Music for Electric Guitars was created in 2011 for Make Music New York’s inaugural Winter Solstice event. The guitarists perform original music by Patrick Grant through powerful mini-amps strapped to their sides while traveling the city streets. Since its inception, Tilted Axes has had incarnations in New York, Detroit, Germany, Brazil, and other locations. This is the only ensemble of its kind and Grant is its inventor.

The purpose of this album is threefold: 1) to expose the music to a new audience, 2) to raise awareness of the project and its uniqueness, 3) to generate future work, to interest other cities and communities to have a Tilted Axes event and music created just for them.

Grant describes the music as post-progressive rock, an intentionally vague genre that means to contain the various styles and performing techniques within the repertoire. These include elements of prog rock, contemporary classical, world music, blues, film music, and incorporating the music of the host city.

Darkthrone - Arctic ThunderDarkthrone

Norwegian duo, Darkthrone, return with their first new studio material since 2013’s triumphant The Underground Resistance; the album becoming the band’s most successful release in recent years. Darkthrone’s new album Arctic Thunder, is due for release on 14th October through Peaceville. 

A new heavy metal odyssey now awaits fans as Fenriz and Nocturno Culto once more show their mastery of “the riff”, demonstrating why Darkthrone remain one of the most respected and enduring acts in the history of extreme metal.

An eclectic mix of free-spirited 80’s fuelled blackened heavy metal, all executed in Darkthrone’s trademark raw and organic style, Arctic Thunder was recorded & produced by the band themselves, with the sessions conducted at Darkthrone’s old rehearsal unit, “The Bomb Shelter”, which they had originally used during 1988-1990.

With themes based around hate, contempt, and the inner mind & soul, and with the notable presence of Nocturno Culto on vocal duties across all songs for the first time in recent years, Arctic Thunder retains a grim atmosphere throughout the album’s 8 tracks, with mastering once again handled by Jack Control at Enormous Door.

Jupiter Falls

UK Melodic Hard Rock band Jupiter Falls have announced that the follow up to the worldwide critically acclaimed debut album Revolution is now available for pre order. Faces In The Sand Part One features 11 brand new tracks including the stunning anthem “This Is A War We Can Not Win” which features guest vocals from Chris Clancy of Wearing Scars & Mutiny Within. The fantastic artwork for the album again comes from Pete Alander (Award winning artist for Black Sabbath’s 13).

With Faces In the Sand Part Two due out Early 2017, the next 12 months will see Jupiter Falls extremely busy performing shows throughout the UK promoting their new album. The full track listing for Faces In The Sand Part One is as follows:

  1. Welcome To My World
  2. Nothing To Me
  3. illusion
  4. Call Me
  5. This Sickened World
  6. Follow You
  7. Voices
  8. This Is A War We Can Not Win (Feat. Chris Clancy)
  9. It’s Your Problem Now
  10. See You On The Other Side
  11. Faces In The Sand (Part One)

Although no official release date has been confirmed, the album is expected October/November 2016. All individuals who pre order will have their names in the booklet of Faces In The Sand Part 1 and will forever be part of the history of Jupiter Falls.


Montreal blackened doom Éohum (pronounced ee-o-um) have posted a teaser for their upcoming video “Eurocide” directed by Chris Kells of The Agonist and his film company FTB Visuals. The teaser video can be viewed below and the full video will be premiered on August 26th. “Eurocide” is off Éohum’s latest EP Ealdfaeder released in March 2016.

About The Author


Father. Husband. Teacher of Computing. PADI divemaster. Krav Maga Practitioner. Geordie. Geek. Nerd. Metal nut. I also own and run a website - you may have heard of it.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of