Exumer release details of new album and first song

Exumer - The Raging TidesGerman Thrash Metallers Exumer have announced The Raging Tides as their fourth album to be released on January, 29th via Metal Blade Records!

Surf now over to Metal Blade (or scroll down the page!) to check out the title track “The Raging Tides”! Click on the pre-order section, the album will be available as a Digi-CD with two bonus tracks. The bonus tracks also appear on the vinyl version!

The Raging Tides marks the 4th output in the band’s 30 year history and was recorded with with producer/engineer Waldemar Soychta at Waldstreet Sound in Dortmund, Germany. The result is a deliberate and violent thrash attack that stays entirely true to the band’s origins.

Conceptually and lyrically, vocalist Mem V. Stein has based the bulk of the record around human suffering. Specifically, he adds it is suffering “caused by torture or other means for political, religious, or personal gain for the individuals/organizations who inflict the pain. The album is called The Raging Tides, and the title represents the ebb and flow of human misery and despair around the globe.”

These topics are obviously not born from a vacuum, rather they are essentially a constant in daily lives in 2015, both by way of the modern 24 hour news cycle, and document leaks and controversy via wikileaks or figures like Edward Snowden. Stein continues: “The lyrics I wrote were inspired by a wide range of books and articles I read, ranging from the investigation of tactics employed by the CIA, to Amnesty International reports on conditions in prisons (Song; “Brand of Evil”), and in Nigeria (extreme forms of human abuse – Song; “Welcome to Hellfire”).”

Specifics details aren’t necessarily called out in the lyrics, rather the topics are clear for listeners who can read between the lines, so to speak. Another example is the track “Shadow Walker”, that touches on those who leave promising lives to pursue radical ideologies and even death, only to be deceived by those they follow for larger political and personal goals.

The Raging Tides track listing:

  1. The Raging Tides
  2. Brand Of Evil
  3. Catatonic
  4. Sacred Defense
  5. Welcome To Hellfire
  6. Sinister Souls
  7. Shadow Walker
  8. There Will Always Be Blood
  9. Dark Reflections
  10. Death Factory
  11. Forever My Queen (Pentagram cover, bonus track)
  12. Hostage To Heaven (Grip Inc. cover, bonus track feat. Rob Dukes, Waldemar Sorychta, Markus Freiwald)

Exumer: official | facebook | twitter | instagram

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments