Templeton Pek – new album out in July

Templeton Pek - New HorizonsBirmingham based punk trio Templeton Pek will release their fourth album, New Horizons, on July 24th 2015  via Hardline Entertainment. The 11 track album was recorded by Ken Seaton at The Porch in Hermosa Beach and  mixed by Cameron Webb (Motörhead, Sum 41, Lit, Pennywise, Ignite) at Maple Studios in Santa Ana, California.

The band’s previous album, Signs [2013], was released via Century Media Records to much critical acclaim. “… a bold, powerful record of punked-up melodic rock that packs a real punch“ [Rock Sound]. Produced by Shep Goodman (Four Year Strong, American Authors, Bayside), that record was made in New York  and contains songs such as “Barriers”, “Slow Burn”, “What Are You Waiting For”, the radio friendly “Wake Me Up”  and the title track, all of which are now cemented in their blistering live shows.

Having toured extensively throughout the UK and mainland Europe since the release of their 2008 debut album,  No Association, the band are seasoned professionals and have played numerous large festivals, arenas and club  shows, sharing stages with the likes of Sum 41, Rise Against, Taking Back Sunday, Bullet For My Valentine,  Pendulum, Bad Religion, Alkaline Trio, All Time Low, Pennywise, Four Year Strong, Mindless Self Indulgence,  Millencolin, Zebrahead, No Use For A Name and many more in the process.

Built with an ingrained DIY ethic, the band even self-recorded and produced their second release, ’Scratches & Scars’ (2011), prior to signing with Century Media. Although ’Signs’ subsequently became their most successful  release, behind the scenes turmoil was occurring without the band’s knowledge that eventually resulted in a non-amicable split with their management company as it collapsed mid-campaign.

The band began writing again in early 2014, and were now in contact with Ken Seaton of Los Angeles based label  Hardline Entertainment. Accepting an offer to record a new album in his studio the band flew to the US and spent  over a month living and recording in Hermosa Beach in Los Angeles County (hometown of Black Flag, Descendents  and Pennywise). Cameron Webb (Motörhead, Sum 41, Pennywise, Ignite) subsequently mixed the record.

The band states:

Being in a town so rich in punk rock and specifically melodic punk rock inspired us to record ‘New  Horizons’ and make it sound the way it does. It’s definitely a new era for us as a band on so many levels.

Primarily it is a positive album about going back to writing songs that made us want to be in a band, or listen to  bands in the first place. It is also an album about moving forward.

The album is about using and building on the past, and that is exactly the drive that the band has. Armed with a  new label, new management, a new member and a new batch of songs that represent and indeed sound like a  band that has had a new lease of life, the album title speaks for itself.

A new song entitled “Fractures” is available on a new Hardline Entertainment compilation that can be downloaded for free here.


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments