Friday, February 22, 2019
GIK Acoustics - Europe
GIK Acoustics - Europe
The Moshville Times

Exhumed’s “Gore Metal – A Necrospective 1998 – 2015” to be released this February

Exhumed - Gore Metal A NecrospectiveOriginally released in 1998, Exhumed’s now-classic debut full-length, Gore Metal, was a boundary defying offering of filth-ridden, grinding, over-the-top death-metal. Unrepentantly fast, furious and maniacal, Gore Metal gleamed with a delightful audio repugnance bedecked in blazing riff infiltrations, slasher-film-inspired lyrics and vile cover art. It was the record that made Carcass seem PG-rated by comparison and thus certified itself as a true underground classic.

Not content to let the album rot away, Exhumed returned to the studio almost two decades later to re-record the landmark offering. The resulting Gore Metal: A Necrospective 1998 – 2015, set for release this February via Relapse Records, maintains the maniacal ferocity of the original recordings while adding depth to the sonic devourment thanks in no small part to years of touring and a vastly improved-sounding recording quality.

Proclaims vocalist/guitarist Matt Harvey:

I’m super pumped that we got the chance to re-record Gore Metal. I don’t think any of us were happy with how it turned out the first time around, so getting another shot at it meant a lot to me personally. I was also really excited to have our old friend Ross Sewage reprise his vocals on the new version, ensuring that it still sounds like that era of Exhumed, though things are a lot more audible this time around!

Presented with completely new artwork and a gaggle of detailed liner notes, Gore Metal: A Necrospective 1998 – 2015 will be unleashed via Relapse Records around February 10th, 2015 (varies depending on territory) and comes available digitally and limited edition LP as well as a deluxe two-CD set which comes packaged with the original version of the album for the price of a single CD. Relish the gorific bargains! Preorder your copy today at Relapse Records’ site. Desirers of the digitals can point their browsers at the evil iTunes.

Check out the video below for details of the various vinyl editions, and to hear the re-recorded “Open the Abscess – Redux”.

Track list:

  1. Necromaniac
  2. Open The Abscess
  3. Postmortem Procedures
  4. Limb From Limb
  5. Enucleation
  6. Casket Crusher
  7. Death Mask
  8. In My Human Slaughter House
  9. Sepulchral Slaughter
  10. Vagitarian II
  11. Blazing Corpse
  12. Deadest Of The Dead

facebook | twitter | bandcamp | myspace | blogspot

About The Author


Father. Husband. Teacher of Computing. PADI divemaster. Krav Maga Practitioner. Geordie. Geek. Nerd. Metal nut. I also own and run a website - you may have heard of it.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of