The Kut set to release new EP on August 18th

The Kut - Make Up“It’s a shame that being an all-girl band is still seen as a gimmick,” says Maha, lead singer and guitarist of The Kut; “There’s always a lot of focus put on it, but we are all serious musicians. We love female fronted acts, but for us the main focus has always been the music.”

Self-styled as ‘basement rock’, The Kut present a sonic collage that evokes everything that made the 1990’s alternative rock scene such a beautifully broken beast. Tying thick slabs of fuzzy guitar, drawn from the core of grunge’s bitter heart, to ethereal passages of twinkling atmospherics that pay homage to the likes of My Vitriol and early Radiohead, the London trio – completed by bassist/vocalist Alison Wood and drummer Amanda Dal – will have you double checking your pocket for Pogs and Patchouli Oil. “We’re heavily influenced by the grunge scene,” grins Maha, “Bands like Smashing Pumpkins, Deftones, Placebo and L7 have had a huge impact on us, as well as the Riot Grrl scene.”

Despite a nigh 4 year hiatus from writing and recording new music, The Kut have made an impressive comeback in 2014 with “No Trace” – the lead single of the band’s forthcoming 5 track E.P ‘Make Up’ – picking up TV and radio support straight out of the blocks, and winning the threesome the top spot in MTV UK’s Brand New Unsigned 2014 Poll. Watch the official video below.

Produced by James ‘Lerock’ Loughrey (White Zombie, Bjork, My Vitriol), Make Up sees The Kut re-energised and ready to riff: “After taking such a long time out from releases (due to some record label misunderstandings), it was a big realisation for us that we’d become stagnant on the new music front,” explains Maha; “We made mistakes, the main one being pretty much just waiting. Life has ups and downs, but you have to just get on with it…. We never went away, we have just been regrouping.”

Kicking ass and taking names on the following dates:

  • Fri 11th July – The Chelsea, Bristol
  • Sat 12th July – The Fullmoon & Attic, Bristol
  • Sat 19th July – Rock and Bike Festival, Derby
  • Sat 2nd Aug – Princess Maha (The Kut acoustic set), Richmond Live Festival, North Yorkshire
  • Sat 9th Aug – Princess Maha (The Kut acoustic set), Kaya Weekender, Bangor, North Wales
  • Sat 6th Sept – ALCON, De Montford University, Leicester

Make Up will be released Digitally and Physically (CD) via Criminal Records on 18th August 2014
Video for lead track ‘No Trace’ is below…

official | facebook | twitter | bandcamp

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments