Battlecross / Channel Zero / Dictated – news and new songs!

battlecross-warofwill-e1399468042111Battlecross Release Slayer Cover

Detroit, MI’s Battlecross just released a new cover of Slayer’s “War Ensemble!”

Guitarist Hiran Deraniyagala says:

“Slayer is obviously one of our biggest influences. Slayer taught me personally to not give a f#@k and throw in attitude in your riffs. War Ensemble is one of my favorite Slayer songs because it embodies the aggression and attitude of Slayer but also is more dynamic than a traditional Slayer song that is all speed. Jeff Hanneman was an underrated player and it’s shame his greatness was only recognized after he passed. In honor of Jeff we wanted to cover “War Ensemble” and throw in a bit of our own twist and speed to the song. Slayer!!!!!!”

The track will be made available to fans via iTunes or you can listen below.

It was recorded, mixed and mastered by Matt Dalton at 37 Studios in Rochester Hills, Michigan.

official | facebook | twitter

Channel Zero - Kill All KingsChannel Zero stream “Burn The Nation”

In collaboration with Metal Hammer Germany, Channel Zero have launched the second single from their new album Kill All Kings. To listen to “Burn The Nation” you’ll need to go to Metal Hammer’s German site.

Kill All Kings will be released by Metal Blade worldwide (except for the Benelux region) the 23rd of June as a Digipack CD with bonus DVD and digital download.

The European edition of Kill All Kings includes the bonus DVD Live at the Ancienne Belgique recorded in 2010 featuring a full, multi-camera angle show including 16 songs! Head over to their Metal Blade page to listen to “Electronic Cocaine”.

Channel Zero started as a band in 1990 and have released five albums since then. Channel Zero is by far the most successful Metal band ever to come out of Belgium, critically acclaimed nationally as well as internationally.

In 2013 the band started to work on their 6th studio album, combined with playing at a handful of summer festivals to try out some of the new songs. On August 10 an unforeseen tragedy shook the entire metal community when drummer Phil Baheux was found dead in his home due to a rupture of an artery. The boyish, up-to-no good giant had always been the energetic center of the band. And when the remaining band members played a short acoustic set in honour of Phil at the Brussels Summer Festival it felt as the final end of the band.

But never give up, never surrender; that was Phil and more. So late fall 2013 the band decided to continue, honouring their friend and comrade. With the new album “Kill All Kings” Channel Zero starts a new chapter in their impressive music career. Mikey seems to have become the riff DNA of the band and Franky challenges himself with ferocious vocal eruptions, even in his own dialect with the song “Duisternis” (= darkness). The tracks “Digital Warfare” and “Mind Over Mechanics” prove that Channel Zero is more combative than ever. And with Roy Mayorga (Stone Sour, Soulfly) on drums during the studio recordings they have someone worthy to continue Phil B’s legacy.

Channel Zero’s 6th studio album shows a band combining technical workmanship with raw energy and groove. Kill All Kings is a thundering musical pinball game between Teutonic trash, snarling groove metal, elusive melodies and that typical and completely unique sharp Channel Zero edge we have come to love more than anything else.

“Nothing is safe, we destroy it all” (“Army Of Bugs”): brace yourself. Channel Zero is coming for you as never before!

Kill All Kings track listing:

  1. Dark Passenger
  2. Electronic Cocaine
  3. Burn The Nation
  4. Digital Warfare
  5. Ego
  6. Crimson Collider
  7. Kill All Kings
  8. Brother’s Keeper
  9. Army Of Bugs
  10. Mind Over Mechanics
  11. Duisternis
  12. Heart Stop

official | facebookyoutube

Dictated band

Dictated signs to Metal Blade Records, announce August release date for The Deceived

Metal Blade is happy to announce the signing of Dutch death metal act Dictated. The furious female guitar tandem Yessica Otten and Sonja Schuringa stumbled upon Michiel vd Plicht and Henri Sattler during a heavy drinking session. While Henri was hustling to sell the girls one of his custom-made SK Guitars, they managed to talk business and join forces for the new Dictated album.

Dictated comments:

“Dictated is very honored and proud to have signed with the mighty Metal Blade Records! We have just finished our album ‘The Deceived’ and we are thrilled to see it being released amongst legends. A great step in our musical careers and we would like to thank Metal Blade for welcoming us into their world and all who believe in us!”

On that very same night, vocalist York picked up the sense of success and after another night in the Irish pub, he was there to stay. With a full line up completed, the five members holed up in their rehearsal space to write an album. Ten new songs were born with the help of an adundance of sweat, beer, and coffee.

In September 2013, Dictated ventured into Studio Soundlodge for The Deceived recording sessions. In the meantime, various photo-shoots took place where friends and family of Dictated found themselves in the background and mutilated in the artwork.

Humor, some serious questions of sanity, and above all, determination and willpower, brought forth Dictated and their debut album, The Deceived. Dictated is ready to hit the stages again. To dominate every venue with their live performance, just like their European tour with Origin in 2012.

Dictated will release The Deceived on August, 18th via Metal Blade Records in the UK. Check out the first video teaser featuring photos, artwork and music from The Deceived below.

Dictated is:

  • York Keijzer – Vocals
  • Sonja Schuringa – Guitars
  • Yessica Otten – Guitars
  • Henri Sattler – Bass (Session)
  • Michiel vd Plicht – Drums (Session)


Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments