Monday, June 18, 2018
GIK Acoustics - Europe
GIK Acoustics - Europe
The Moshville Times

Review: Suzi Quatro – The Best of Suzi Quatro: Legend

Always happy to ensure we cover all genres and eras of rock music, it was a pleasant surprise to have Suzi Quatro’s new compilation album drop through the letterbox. An artist I’ve heard of, but admittedly am not familiar with the work of, this 20-track collection seems as good a place as any to start.

Quatro’s career has spanned over fifty years and this album contains all of her greatest hits, remastered for a modern audience. Around the same time, her first four albums (released throughout the 1970s) will get the same treatment and be re-released to download and stream.

You can check out the tracklist before and even for someone like me who’d not call themselves a fan, there’s more than a couple of familiar songs. Opener “Can The Can” is from 1973, Quatro’s first solo hit. The thumping drums and bass intro are as recognisable now as they were 43 years ago. The organ in the background sets the song firmly in the era, and everything is crystal clear courtesy of the remixing.

Quatro obviously went for the “wild child” / “chicks in leather” theme in a big way, as evidenced by song titles such as “Shine My Machine”, “Daytona Demon”, “The Wild One” and “48 Crash”. The belters are tempered by the likes of “Wiser Than You”‘s country overtones and the far lighter sound of “Free the Butterfly”. With a decent number of songs on here, the breadth of Quatro’s musical range has been well explored.

For the avid fan considering getting the aforementioned albums reissues, this will make a good companion piece as several tracks present here aren’t present on any of the four. This is the only place you’ll get the remastered versions of the songs. For the interested bystander, you won’t get a better “best of” than this one. If you want to add a score of Quatro numbers to your collection, then you’ve just found them.

Suzi Quatro – The Best of Suzi Quatro: Legend is out on September 22nd and can be pre-ordered (CD, digital and gold coloured double vinyl) on Pledge Music.


  1. Can The Can (2017 Remaster)
  2. Shine My Machine (2017 Remaster)
  3. 48 Crash (2017 Remaster)
  4. Skin Tight Skin (2017 Remaster)
  5. Daytona Demon (2017 Remaster)
  6. Devil Gate Drive (2017 Remaster)
  7. The Wild One (Single Version)
  8. Cat Size (2017 Remaster)
  9. Too Big (2017 Remaster)
  10. Michael (2017 Remaster)
  11. Half As Much As Me (2017 Remaster)
  12. Stumblin’ In (2017 Remaster)
  13. If You Can’t Give Me Love (2017 Remaster)
  14. Suicide (2017 Remaster)
  15. Wiser Than You (2017 Remaster)
  16. She’s In Love With You (2017 Remaster)
  17. Hollywood (2017 Remaster)
  18. 15 Minutes Of Fame
  19. Free The Butterfly
  20. Dancing In The Wind

Suzi Quatro: official | facebook | twitter

About The Author


Father. Husband. Teacher of Computing. PADI divemaster. Krav Maga Practitioner. Geordie. Geek. Nerd. Metal nut. I also own and run a website - you may have heard of it.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of