Tuesday, June 19, 2018
GIK Acoustics - Europe
GIK Acoustics - Europe
The Moshville Times

Runrig celebrate final studio album

Runrig - The StoryRunrig release The Story – their 14th and final studio album on Friday 29 January, 2016. The 11-track album brings the curtain down on a remarkable and unique recording career. The new album will be released on Deluxe CD format that comes with an exclusive 32-page booklet, a 2-disc gatefold vinyl with bonus track (“The Story” – radio edit), and digital download. The band will support the new album with a 14-date Scottish/UK tour that starts at the Aberdeen Music Hall on Wednesday 10 February. Visit the official UK web release page.

Scottish shows can be booked online from ticketmaster.co.uk or from the 24 hour box office: 0844 844 0444. UK shows can be booked online from bookingsdirect.com or from the 24 hour box office: 0844 338 000. The title track, “The Story”, is accompanied with the official music video – a powerful uplifting short film about one man’s relationship with his culture and with his past, and the hold these memories still have over his life and the stories inside all of us.

Having celebrated their 40th anniversary in 2013, Runrig have taken the decision to embark on one final creative journey into the studio. The result is The Story; an album of emotional resonance and reflection, placing at its heart, a narrative that is very much part of the band itself. “This is the band’s last studio recording, a hugely significant milestone for us all and one that we really want to celebrate,” says Rory McDonald, Runrig’s bass guitarist, backing vocalist and one of their original founding members.

“One of the highlights of the album was being able to go to Prague to record the 32- piece Prague Philharmonic Orchestra, says Brian Hurrren, who produced the new album and plays keyboards, accordion and sings backing vocals. “It was an incredible experience and it really helped to bring out the emotion in the songs.” Adds original founding member, percussionist and songwriter Calum MacDonald – “There are many stories on the album but none more so than that of the band itself. It’s fair to say that a number of the songs have a definite reflective quality.”


  • Aberdeen Music Hall – Wednesday 10 February (Sold Out)
  • Glasgow Royal Concert Hall – Thursday 11 February (Sold Out)
  • Dundee Caird Hall – Friday 12 February
  • Edinburgh Usher Hall – Saturday 13 February (Sold Out)
  • Nottingham Royal Concert Hall – Tuesday 16 February
  • Gateshead The Sage – Wednesday 17 February (Sold Out)
  • Birmingham Symphony Hall – Thursday 18 February
  • Portsmouth Guildhall – Friday 19 February
  • Ipswich Regent Theatre – Saturday 20 February
  • Manchester o2 Apollo – Tuesday 23 February
  • Bristol Colston Hall – Wednesday 24 February
  • Sheffield City Hall – Thursday 25 February
  • London o2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire – Friday 26 February
  • Cambridge Corn Exchange – Saturday 27 February
  • Hebridean Celtic Festival – Saturday 16 July
  • Edinburgh Castle – Saturday 23 July

Header image © Matt Liengie

Runrig: official

About The Author


Father. Husband. Teacher of Computing. PADI divemaster. Krav Maga Practitioner. Geordie. Geek. Nerd. Metal nut. I also own and run a website - you may have heard of it.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of